Ai Phoenix was formed in Bergen in 1997 by Patrick Lundberg (vocals, instruments, song writer), Mona Mørk (vocals, song writer), and Robert Jønnum (instruments and sound)

The first album "Film" (1998) was released on their own label Ai Phoenix Recordings. 136 CDs were printed, distributed to local record stores. But one of them got in the hands of Oslo-label Dbut Records, which in 1999 released "Film" for a wider audience.

In 1999 the band got two new members, Bosse Litzheim (drums) and Espen Mellingen (guitar), to become a complete live band.

In August 2000 two albums are released on the new Racing Junior label (also formed by the band's own Robert Jønnum): "Happy To Get Her" (10" mini-album) and "The Driver Is Dead" (Album). Start recording their next album in November.

2001: First European tour joining up with St. Thomas doing concerts in Denmark, Germany, UK, and Italy. They also record the music for the award winning documentary "Balance".

Espen has to leave the band in July, and in October Robert also quits.

In April 2002 "Lean That Way Forever", their third full-length album, is released. The album consists of recordings spanning over 12 months of recording , and many different line-ups. But most of it is based around the old line-up. The band continues as a trio, with guests filling in on gigs.

2003: "I've Been Gone - Letter One" released. Recorded in Høyanger with friends including members of Sister Sonny and Stockhaus.